My Acne Story: Introduction

Scientifically acne is a skin condition that occurs when hair follicles plug with oil and dead skin cells. Presence of bacteria on the skin surface triggers the immune system response and causes more redness and swelling.

The above explanation is the understanding of doctors and dermatologists (in short) up to this day, and that’s exactly how they have tried to treat acne based on their knowledge. For example they came up with medicines such as antibiotics (to fight bacterias), Accutane (to reduce oil production of the follicles) and over the counter treatments (benzoyl peroxide, glycolic acid, salicylic acid, etc.).

Believe it or not, after decades of research, with tens of treatments and medications to apply, considering how common acne is among people of different age groups, we still have very limited information. We are just not sure what exactly causes acne and how our treatments work.

Our lack of knowledge of this skin condition would force many people to change their diet, habits. It can effect people’s future without them having any choice.

I have been experiencing acne, from mild to severe, since the last 8 years. Even though many people convince themselves how acne helped them to be a better person,  I can absolutely say by now, how my life would have been much better without it.

In this blog I would like to share my experience so far with acne and how learned deal with it. I always wished someone would have done the same, with an skeptical approach, so I wouldn’t have made the same mistakes over and over again, not being aware of them.

My approach towards acne is very skeptical and I will always back my ideas with proper explanation and evidence. As I’m still learning , I would really appreciate your opinion and comments while I share my story.

 

collage
I would like to introduce my little friends who weren’t very nice to me 😦
Leave a Reply

